The Arts @ San Francisco State University

The Morrison Artists Series presents The Van Kuijk String Quartet

Sunday, April 15, 2018: 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Venue: McKenna Theatre

Add To Calendar   15/04/2018 15:00:00 15/04/2018 17:00:00 Pacific/Pitcairn The Morrison Artists Series presents The Van Kuijk String Quartet April 15, 2018 McKenna Theatre, Creative Arts Building 1600 Holloway Ave. San Francisco, CA 94132, San Francisco, California, 94132 SFSU Ticketing Portal false DD/MM/YYYY

Concert Sunday, April 15, 2018, 3pm
Master class Monday, April 16, 2018, noon

"Style, energy, and a sense of risk… These four young Frenchman made the music smile."
- The Guardian

Founded in 2012 in Paris, the Van Kuijk Quartet won the 2015 Wigmore Hall String Quartet Competition, along with the associated Best Beethoven and Best Haydn prizes. In the few years since the quartet first formed, it has found success throughout Europe. As well as triumphing at the Wigmore Hall, the quartet won the First Prize and Audience Award at the Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition in Norway and is laureate of the Aix-en-Provence Festival Academy and the FNAPEC Ensembles Music Competition, both in France.

The Van Kuijk Quartet is in residence at Proquartet, Paris, where it studies with members of the Alban Berg, Artemis and Hagen quartets. Having taken their first steps as students of the Ysaÿe Quartet, the young musicians now study with Günter Pichler at the Escuela Superior de Mùsica Reina Sofia in Madrid; their studies take place thanks to the generous support of the International Institute of Chamber Music of Madrid.

The quartet also participates in various academies, including the McGill International String Quartet Academy (Montreal) and the Weikersheim International Chamber Music Academy, as well as academies in Aix-en-Provence and Verbier. An established presence in major international venues, the Van Kuijk Quartet has performed at the Salle Gaveau in Paris, Wigmore Hall in London and at festivals in Heidelberg, Verbier, Aix-en Provence Stavanger, the Tivoli Concert Series in Denmark and the Lockenhaus Chamber Music Festival in Austria.


Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847), String Quartet No. 4 in E minor, Opus 44 No. 2 (1837)

Akira Nishimura (b. 1953), String Quartet No. 2, “Pulse of the Lights” (1992)

Claude Debussy (1862-1918), String Quartet in G minor, Opus 10 (1893)

SFSU welcomes persons with disabilities and will provide reasonable accommodations upon request.  If you would like reasonable accommodations for this event, please contact the Box Office at (415) 338-2467 or at least 15 working days before the show.


SectionPriceService FeeTickets Requested
16828170205 General Admission $0.00 $0.00
Add To Cart

The Morrison Artists Series presents The Van Kuijk String Quartet

It looks like your cookies have disabled on your browser, this store requires cookies, please adjust your browser's settings to enable cookies to continue.